Club Profile

The club was founded on 9 April 1966 by Macedonian Australians as Newcastle Macedonia FC. Originally formed as a social club to play football together with other Macedonians, it is now a major force in Northern NSW NPL. The club saw its first action on 20 March 1967 against Cardiff Workers RSL with Macedonia winning the match, 2-1. A sign of things to come.

Throughout the years, Broadmeadow have gone through a series of name changes. The club was known as Broadmeadow United from 1971 until 1974 and then enjoyed a period of success in the 1970s as Hamilton Red Star. In 1975, Red Star was promoted to the NSW Football Federation 4th division, the 3rd division in 1976, the 2nd division in 1978 and finally the 1st Division in 1980. By 1985, Red Star was relegated back to the 2nd division, and had reverted to its original name, Newcastle Macedonia. During 10 years of competing in the 2nd division, Newcastle Macedonia won the league title twice.

In 1995, Newcastle Macedonia was finally promoted back to the highest flight in Northern New South Wales, the NBN State Football League. During this year the club also made its final name change to its current, Broadmeadow Magic FC,¬†Broadmeadow has produced a number of players who have gone on to play for the Newcastle Jets (or equivalent) in Australia’s number one domestic competition, the Hyundai A-League. Ben Kantarovski, one of Newcastle’s key players and current captain of the Australian U/20 side, was a Broadmeadow Magic junior. Ben Kennedy, Newcastle’s first-choice goalkeeper, was also a Broadmeadow junior, and Peter Haynes, who was in the Newcastle Jets squad for the 2009 AFC Asian Champions’ League, and currently plays for Magic.

Broadmeadow Magic Legends

  • Josh Mitchell
  • Slave Catalovski
  • Boris Bendevski
  • Tod McMannis
  • John Benis
  • Peter Haynes
  • Andrew Hoole
  • Ben Katarovski
  • Alex Kantarovski
  • Michael Kantarovski
  • Kale Bradbury
  • Simon Mooney
  • Beau Bush
  • Ryan Smith
  • Ben Kennedy
  • Peter Richie
  • Craig Carter
  • Bobby Naumov
  • Glenn Moore
  • Chris Acevski
  • Shane Lock
  • Craig McGregor
  • Josh Small
  • Kegan Wolferden
  • Josh Piddington
  • Scott Pettit